Who We Are

Walter Maetzler (MD)

Walter is trained as a neurologist and geriatrist, and holds a professorship in neurogeriatrics at the Medical Faculty of Kiel University. He is the head of the research group.
w.maetzler@neurologie.uni-kiel.de

Clint Hansen (PhD)

Clint is a sports scientist and deputy group leader. He is well acquainted with sensor systems and coordinates algorithm development.
clint.hansen@neurologie.uni-kiel.de

Morad Elshehabi (MD, PhD fellow)

Morad is a medical doctor and works as a resident in our neurology department.
m.elshehabi@neurologie.uni-kiel.de

Kirsten Emmert (PhD)

Kirsten is a neuroscientist by training and currently coordinates research for the IDEA-FAST project. Besides IDEA-FAST, she is involved in scientific writing including new grant applications.
k.emmert@neurologie.uni-kiel.de

Johanna Geritz (PhD fellow)

Hanna is a neuropsychologist and is in the final stages of her PhD Project, which she is doing in collaboration with the Institute of Psychology at University L├╝beck.
j.geritz@neurologie.uni-kiel.de

Office hours: Monday 15:30-17:00 & Friday 8:30-9:30

Kirstin (Crispy) Hansen

Crispy is Walter’s personal assistant and as an all-rounder she is the good fairy of the whole team. She knows about (almost) everything that happens in the group.
k.hansen@neurologie.uni-kiel.de

Markus Hobert (MD, PhD fellow)

Markus also works as a resident in the neurology department. He has many years of experience in neurogeriatric research, especially in the field of the motor-cognitive interaction, neurodegenerative diseases and deep brain stimulation.
markus.hobert@uksh.de

Corina Maetzler (MSc)

Corina comes from the field of linguistics. She is interested in linguistic aspects of neurodegenerative diseases, takes care of many technical issues and constructs databases with REDCap.
c.maetzler@neurologie.uni-kiel.de

Robbin Romijnders (PhD fellow)

Robbin comes from biomedical engineering and he is writing his doctoral thesis in cooperation with the Kiel Faculty of Technology. His research focuses on the feasibility and acceptance of a patient-controlled electronic health record and on fall prediction.
r.romijnders@neurologie.uni-kiel.de

Janet van Uem (MD, PhD)

Janet is a trained physiotherapist and a medical doctor. She coordinates study protocols and contact with study participants.
j.vanuem@neurologie.uni-kiel.de

Elke Warmerdam (PhD fellow)

Elke is a movement scientist and is working on her doctoral thesis, which, as with Robbin, is being developed in cooperation with the Kiel Faculty of Technology. Elke analyses (pathological) movements using sensor data.
e.warmerdam@neurologie.uni-kiel.de

Julius Welzel (PhD fellow)

Julius is also a neuropsychologist and scientific doctoral student as Hanna. He is an EEG and statistics specialist and interested in the integration of movement, algorithm development and validation, data management and interpretation.
j.welzel@neurologie.uni-kiel.de

Office hours: Wednesday 16:00-18:00 & Friday 8:30-9:30

Doctoral Students