Who We Are

Walter Maetzler (MD)

Walter is trained as a neurologist and geriatrist, and holds a professorship in neurogeriatrics at the Medical Faculty of Kiel University. He is the head of the research group.
w.maetzler@neurologie.uni-kiel.de

Milda Aleknonyte-Resch (PhD)

Milda is a data scientist who holds a PhD in natural sciences as well as a MSc in quantitative economics. She is especially interested in time-series analysis, machine learning and simulations.
resch@medinfo.uni-kiel.de

Clint Hansen (PhD)

Clint is a sports scientist and deputy group leader. He is well acquainted with sensor systems and coordinates algorithm development.
clint.hansen@neurologie.uni-kiel.de

Kirsten Emmert (PhD)

Kirsten is a neuroscientist by training and currently coordinates research for the IDEA-FAST project. Besides IDEA-FAST, she is involved in scientific writing including new grant applications.
k.emmert@neurologie.uni-kiel.de

Johanna Geritz (PhD fellow)

Hanna is a neuropsychologist and is in the final stages of her PhD Project, which she is doing in collaboration with the Institute of Psychology at University L├╝beck.
j.geritz@neurologie.uni-kiel.de

Office hours: Monday 15:30-17:00 & Friday 8:30-9:30

Kirstin (Crispy) Hansen

Crispy is Walter’s personal assistant and as an all-rounder she is the good fairy of the whole team. She knows about (almost) everything that happens in the group.
k.hansen@neurologie.uni-kiel.de

Hanna Hildesheim (MD, Clinician Scientist)

Hanna is a resident in the neurology department and coordinates the implementation of study protocols and contact with study participants.
h.hildesheim@neurologie.uni-kiel.de

Markus Hobert (MD, PhD fellow)

Markus also works as a resident in the neurology department. He has many years of experience in neurogeriatric research, especially in the field of the motor-cognitive interaction, neurodegenerative diseases and deep brain stimulation.
markus.hobert@uksh.de

Jennifer Kudelka (MD, Clinician Scientist)

Jennifer also works as a medical doctor in the neurology department. Together with Hanna, she coordinates the implementation of study protocols and is the contact person for study participants.
jennifer.kudelka@uksh.de

Corina Maetzler (MA)

Corina originally comes from the field of linguistics. Together with Kirsten, she currently coordinates the research for the IDEA-FAST project and also takes care of many technical issues around the devices used in our studies and databases with REDCap.
c.maetzler@neurologie.uni-kiel.de

Theo Nerdal (MD)

Theo works as a resident and is involved in both patient care and science. His passion is eye movement disorders, which he studies in the research group in various disease patterns.
PatrickTheodor.Nerdal@uksh.de

Robbin Romijnders (PhD fellow)

Robbin comes from biomedical engineering and he is writing his doctoral thesis in cooperation with the Kiel Faculty of Technology. His research focuses on the feasibility and acceptance of a patient-controlled electronic health record and on fall prediction.
r.romijnders@neurologie.uni-kiel.de

Julius Welzel (PhD fellow)

Julius is also a neuropsychologist and scientific doctoral student as Hanna. He is an EEG and statistics specialist and interested in the integration of movement, algorithm development and validation, data management and interpretation.
j.welzel@neurologie.uni-kiel.de

Office hours: Wednesday 16:00-18:00 & Friday 8:30-9:30

Doctoral Students